Beretta 92fs: Smooth Defined

I purchased a Beretta 92fs last year simply because I felt it was necessary to have this iconic 9mm in my collection.  New, these guns aren’t cheap.  So, I ventured to Gunbroker.com and promptly (within a few weeks) procured a like-new condition 92fs “police special” for $410.  This pistol had everything I wanted in a 92fs:  new style frame with “dished out” backstrap, night sights, and three extra standard capacity (15 round) magazines.  The only thing I wasn’t crazy about was the angled dust cover but for the price why be picky about something that’s purely aesthetic?  The pistol arrived in perfect condition in factory box with papers; you wouldn’t be able to tell it from new.

I owned a Taurus PT99 several years back.  Taurus, as many of you may know, manufactures a copy of the Beretta 92 in Brazil.  Originally, they purchased Beretta machinery, but over the years the design has evolved to the point where the Taurus and Beretta are very similar but are not the same gun.  Anyway, I sold the Taurus many years back and now own the Beretta.  I’m happy with my current choice.

The 92fs is similar to the M9, which is the US Military’s standard sidearm.  The main difference in, say, the M9 and my specific Beretta is the angled dust cover (reinforced to handle .40 S&W) and the dished out back strap on the grip (improves ergonomics every so slightly in my opinion).  The finish is a little different, but not much.  And the M9 has less “legal” verbiage on the slide.  And, if you want to get picky, I have night sights and the standard M9 does not.

My Beretta’s trigger spring was immediately replaced with a “D” spring, which is a very common modification using factory original equipment; it doesn’t impact this pistol’s function or reliability other than making the trigger pull somewhat lighter.  SA pull is now right around 4.75 lbs.

In short, the gun is accurate.  And smooth.  In fact, when you rack the slide it feels like it’s on ball bearings, and the whole operation works with the feel and sound of a well-engineered precision instrument.  The grip, while full size, is not uncomfortable and is in fact one of the most comfortable grips in my opinion (and I do not have large hands).  The trigger reach isn’t bad in either SA or DA; in face it’s shorter (much so) than my CZ-75b.  And the DA trigger pull with the “D” spring is the smoothest DA pull on any of my SA/DA autos.

I love shooting this gun; it comes to the range often with me.  It’s the standard by which I judge other 9mm handguns.  Lately I’ve become enamored with my Walther PPQ and seem to shoot it a little more accurately, but the Beretta is no slouch and it’s still one of my favorites.  I will go on record as saying that I will NEVER get rid of this gun; its place in my line-up is forever secure.  The only way I would part with it is if I procure other Berettas and this one simply becomes redundant.  But I don’t think that will happen.

Get a 92fs; you won’t regret it.  It’s not small and don’t expect it to be conceal easily, but if you want a great range gun and one of the classic 9mm designs of all time, you can’t beat this pistol.

Here’s a 5-shot group from my last outing with this pistol (at 10 yards):

About martowski

Garden-variety professional with one too many hobbies.
This entry was posted in Firearms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beretta 92fs: Smooth Defined

  1. tim says:

    i enjoy your blog have to agree on the 92fs i love mine i also did the d spring gun is very accurate

Leave a Reply

