Gun Selling Regrets

Regrets.  We all have them.  On the surface, we may say we don’t.  But if you dig down deep enough, they’re there.  Maybe it’s the 2nd doughnut you ate at the office.  Could be the “Twilight” movie tickets that just hit your credit card.  Or, maybe those really WERE the droids you were looking for after all.

I have regrets, but fortunately none of them are life-altering.  And, this article is about one thing:  firearm regrets.  I like variety, and I do a fair amount of buying/selling in search of the “Holy Grail” of whatever it is I’m looking for at the time.  I do not regret selling most firearms, as I can look in my safe and see the other purchases that were made possible from the funds of another.  But, if I had to pick one gun that I may have given up on too early, it’s this:

This is an EAA Witness in Wonderfinish.  The pistol pictured is an older one, similar to the one I owned around 13 years ago.  The new ones in 9mm have since changed frame style, and I hear they are not quite as slender or handy as the old ones.

I purchased this pistol at a very reasonable price.  I can’t recall exactly, but $299 seems to be ringing a bell in my memory.  It was all steel and felt wonderful.  The large dished out area where the web of the shooting hand, combined with the nicely curved beavertail and the rubber grips, made for a grip that felt like it melted into the hand.  From my memory, the DA trigger wasn’t anything spectacular but the SA trigger was nice, with the trigger itself having a nice shape and curve.  The weight of the pistol tamed recoil very well, and it never skipped a beat.  And, despite my less than developed pistol shooting skills at the time, it showed promise of nice accuracy.  The Wonderfinish on the pistol even felt nice, somehow combining a hard yet soft feel the hands.  One of the only cosmetic downsides was the engraving.  The wording on the pistol looked like it was written in by a kid with one of those vibrating engraving pens.

Why did I ditch it?  It shot low.  Very low.  So much that I had to make “fake” aiming points about 18 inches above my desired point of impact when shooting around 30 ft.  I even purchased an aftermarket LPA adjustable sight hoping I could dial it in, but it wouldn’t adjust that far.  When looking at the barrel and slide, the barrel definitely came out of the end touching the bottom of the slide hole but not the top which leads me to believe there may have been some fundamental issue with how the barrel aligned with the slide.  I sold the pistol in the end, but sometimes wish I still had it to see if it truly was an issue with the pistol or if it was an issue with the shooter.

I will never know whether or not the old Witness would work in my hands today.  I did end up getting the CZ-75b (the pistol that the Witness copies).  But, oddly enough, I liked the feel of the Witness better both in terms of the grip and the trigger.  I have considered picking up a Witness Match for a range shooter, but now that I have my STI Spartan I can’t picture the Witness besting that pistol for accuracy.

Oh well.  Life is full of regrets, and this one is about a “1” on a 0 – 10 scale of impact to my life in total (well, could be closer to a .5 or even a .25).  I lose no sleep and still seem to function as a seemingly normal member of society despite not having an EAA product in my possession.  But, once in awhile when looking in my safe, I wonder how that old Witness would feel in my hands today.

About martowski

Garden-variety professional with one too many hobbies.
This entry was posted in Firearms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gun Selling Regrets

  1. Pingback: “New” Old 9mm”: Tanfoglio TZ-75 | Midwestern Ramblings

  2. Sal says:

    I feel you except my regret is not buying a pistol when I had ample time to make up my mind. I actually have one of the old Witness pistols in 9mm with the .40 conversion kits. I agree that the grip is one of the best I’ve ever felt & even though I love my CZ-75B in all stainless, I wish CZ would make the grip more like it. I’ve thought about selling it but the grip makes me hold on no pun intended. My is blue steel & if I run out of ammo it doubles as a Billy club!

    • martowski says:

      Don’t get rid of that old small frame Witness. EAA for many years now has only been using the large frame size for all calibers, which stinks because it turns what could be a ergonomic 9mm into an oversized handgun.

Leave a Reply

